Tags

, , , ,

Lately I have been working on a project whose scope is the creation and reconciliation of the paper trail that reflects the monitoring of the removal of flood debris from Nashville’s recent woes so that the local government here will be reimbursed by the feds for the costs of that debris clean-up.  (Last week I clocked 87 hours, though I will be paid for only 40.)  It’s been a learning experience on a variety of levels, and I think I am lucky that between the hours on the clock and the speed with which I go to sleep after such an extended work effort, I have been unable to turn much of my attention much else, including the BP oil-spill catastrophe that is currently

  • devastating the Louisiana coast, including the shores of Grand Isle, where I went crabbing and fishing for speckled trout as a child;
  • a testing ground for known-carcinogenic chemicals whose primary purpose seems to be the deception of the interested public: it is being dumped into the Gulf to break up the oil so it is not as visible to cameras and satellite imagery (and is therefore less of a concern for those who might otherwise find out how big a problem this spill represents);
  • killing seabirds and oceanic wildlife, destroying the habitat of thousands of marshland species, and endangering the livelihoods of thousands of fishermen along the coastal areas of southern North America;
  • making me (and you, hopefully) even more cynical about the (paid) links between the oil industry and our federal gubmint;
  • pushing oil-company scientists to find a way for humans to metabolize oil and carcinogenic oil-thinner for when there is no more seafood.

If you like seafood from the southern coastal portion of the United States, I suggest you stock up now.

Oil Washes Ashore @ Grand Isle, LA

So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Related Links:

New Video Shows Gulf Oil Rig Explosion

NOAA Gulf of Mexico – Oil Spill Trajectory Forecasts

From Oil to Asphalt: How A Powder Could Turn the Gulf Slick into Future Highways

